In the beginning

In the beginning there was only darkness, actually it was more like a range of emotions. I received a call from Ignace School notifying me I had been chosen as the School Librarian. For those who don’t know Ignace is in Northern, Ontario approximately 3 hours west of Thunder bay, Ontario.

After I got the call, as mentioned above, I went through a range of emotions. This was going to be a big change for me. I went from pure excitement at having my first job out of school, Apprehension of leaving what I knew, and fear of the unknown.

Excitement – I was pumped. My first real job out of School. A full time job to boot. I was moving to a new community, known for its lake resorts and outdoor tourism.

Apprehension – I was a bit anxious, I have never made a move this far, away from everything I knew. I grew up in Southern Ontario and this was gonna be a huge change.

Fear of the Unknown – After a few days I began looking excitedly at places to live, people to meet, and learning more about the school I was going to. It slowly dawned on me that this could go horribly wrong. What if I didn’t find a place to live? What if the job didn’t work out, what if I froze to death?

This was going to be huge. I was so excited for the experience, but terrified at the same time. I have found temporary lodging and the school has been very helpful with finding the accommodations I have. I am now packing to move up there and will be making the 2,000km drive north from London, On to Ignace, On. Next stop frozen north.

One thought on “In the beginning

Leave a Reply

